Bird ID: 7886
Species: Ringneck
Sex: Unknown
Sub-Species: Indian
Health Status: Healthy
Good with Children: Unknown
Well Socialized: Unknown
Currently in Foster Care
Sponsor Me!

If you're approved to adopt, click here to email my adoption coordinator.
To learn more about fostering or adopting our birds, please click here.

You can see a feature video all about me from our May 2024 Mickaboo online Adoption Fair. Check it out!

I`m Lillie, a 4-5 month old baby Indian Ringneck who is believed to be a female (not dna tested). I had somehow escaped my previous home, ended up at a shelter, and was rescued by Mickaboo. I wasn`t fully weaned when I arrived at my foster mom`s place so it took 3-4 weeks of formula feeding before I started eating independently. My diet consists of Harrison`s pellet combined with daily fruits and veggies. As treats I like millet, almonds, and Nutri-Cakes.

I am an active bird, love to fly, have a zest for life, and am well-socialized. I get a minimum of 1.5-2 hours outside-cage time daily. I do not get along with smaller birds and I will get jealous if other birds try to spend time with my human at the same time as me. I am not thrilled about hands but I`ll step up or tolerate hands if it has a food item, especially treats.

I have a busy beak and I enjoy foraging boxes. My favorite type of play stand is the human itself but I`ll also take interest in anything I can practice my navigating skills. I am fully flighted and prefer to stay that way- I don`t prefer to be in the cage especially when the human is on the other side of the bars (I may tolerate it if I`m given something to keep me busy while I`m inside until I can be let out). I will protest being inside the cage by pacing the cage floor- when you open my cage door, I`m like the racehorse right out the starting gate.

I respond well to people who learn my body language and are strategic about telling me what I can`t do or should do. There is no guarantee I won`t try to bite or nibble at a finger to threaten you to back off (I haven`t ever actually bitten hard but I will if you misread me). I take kisses on top of the beak and on top of my head. If you read my mood right, and ask permission, I may allow a quick scritch. Im not cuddly but I love to be around my human and will flock call if I missed them. I also help out with house chores by product testing the objects you`re working with, hanging off your hair or clothes while you work, and getting in your way by insisting I help. I may also get in trouble with the objects I`m tearing apart so I do need to be monitored when I`m outside the cage.

Once I`m done with my chaos for the hour, I prefer my human to be sitting still so I can perch on their shoulder and preen myself/rest. When I`m on my own I can be heard experimenting with my voice while I lecture the birds outside (I love watching the outdoors/sitting by a window).

Overall, I`m a great parrot with typical IRN behaviors and once I get to know you (give me about 3-4 weeks and lots of patience) -I will allow you to handle me as you wish as long as my space is respected. I can live up to 30+ years with a good diet and exercise. My foster mom believes I may not be good with young children because my language and needs may not be understood by them. I am currently housed in a cage size of: 38"h x 32"w x 21"d - and I can take small flights with a flap or two. The bigger the cage, the happier I will be.