Bird ID: 7873
Species: Conure
Sex: Female
Sub-Species: Green Cheek
Health Status: Healthy
Good with Children: Over 12
Well Socialized: Yes
Currently in Foster Care
Sponsor Me!

If you're approved to adopt, click here to email my adoption coordinator.
To learn more about fostering or adopting our birds, please click here.

You can see a feature video all about me from our May 2024 Mickaboo online Adoption Fair. Check it out!

Hello World! I`m Nai`a, a female green-cheeked conure, and I`m about a year and a half old as of May. 2024. I came to Mickaboo as a surrender when my previous home could no longer care for me. Under good care, my life expectancy is 25-30 years - I can be a lifelong companion!

When I arrived at Mickaboo, I had very badly clipped wings so I have no flight; I can`t even land well. However, with treat incentives I am willing to walk to your hand and even sit there while I finish my treat. With time and patience, I can learn to fly to you and that will aid my wing growth!

I am currently on a Harrison`s pellet diet along with Nutri-An cakes. I haven`t built a taste for fruits or veggies yet but I`m open to it (especially if you`re eating it). My favorite treat is sunflower seeds and sometimes millet.

I`m very skittish and everything in the world is scary to me, even though I prefer to be outside the cage. It is believed that my lack of confidence has something to do with my lack of flight/way to protect myself. I will get on a human finger or palm if I`m offered treats. I am not too loud but I`ll screech politely for attention, if you could please take me with you to the next room or spend time next to me.

I make kissy sounds, I purr, and sometimes I`ll make small dance motions with you! Once I warm up with the human and my environment, I`ll wander to explore! However, if I fall off the cage, I`ll need a human to help me back up or set up a ladder I can use to get back up.

Will you be my forever home? I would love a space and a human to call my own! My living space currently is a cage of 30x20x18 dimensions but the bigger the better! My special care is that since I can`t fly, I need a setup that`ll encourage my flight but also let me get around without it. Once my wings grow out and you teach me how to fly (this could take months) - I won`t need any special accommodations!