Professor Lollipop

Bird ID: 7677
Species: Poicephalus
Sex: Female
Sub-Species: Cape Parrot
Health Status: Healthy
Good with Children: Unknown
Well Socialized: Unknown
Currently in Foster Care
Sponsor Me!

If you're approved to adopt, click here to email my adoption coordinator.
To learn more about fostering or adopting our birds, please click here.

You can see a video all about me here from an online Mickaboo Adoption Event in April 2024.

Hi, I`m Professor Lollipop, a female Cape parrot who`s about 23 years old. I was purchased as a fledgling in June of 2001 and lived in the same safe, healthy, comfortable household my whole life until coming to Mickaboo when my previous keeper couldn`t provide the care I needed anymore.

My species is of the genus Poicephalus, which means that my relatives live in sub-Saharan Africa. The Cape parrot species was recently split into two species, one of which has two sub-species. Using the current taxonomy, I -- and probably most "Cape" parrots who are kept as pets -- would probably be called Grey-headed parrots (you can read about the differences here), but, for now, we`re all still commonly referred to as Cape parrots in psitticulture. Mickaboo is fairly sure that I`m a female because of the orange coloration on the front of my head. We are the largest of the Poicephalus parrots, and I`m roughly the same size as a Timneh African Grey. By comparison, a Senegal Parrot is about the same size as a larger cockatiel.

I`m a fairly quiet, low-key bird who prefers ambient companionship much of the time and might prefer the company of men over women. I can get loud when nervous or excited, but am usually calm. I like my human companion to remain in eyesight and will call out, sometimes loudly, for my flock, though I`m learning that gentler flocking calls like whistling work just as well. I click, whir, and make a few people sounds, too.

My diet consists of Harrison`s pellets and Nutrian cakes, and I will at least try various fruits and vegetables. So far, I have nibbled at chop, but much of it goes on the floor. I like chewing up wooden blocks, but I prefer blocks that have grooves cut in them -- they`re easier to grip and have a more interesting texture.

As you can see, I`m a gorgeous and distinctive bird. I`d prefer to go to a home where I can have a lot of attention from a family with big-bird experience.